College Sport Auckland’s Young Sportsperson of the Year (YSPOTY) Awards have been held since 1991 to celebrate the outstanding sporting achievements of Auckland secondary school students in sanctioned sports and give special consideration to students who have contributed to college sport.

This year, 16 of our sports students were named finalists at the 2023 College Sport Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards. This is an amazing accomplishment and to have 16 students recognized for their sporting achievements this year is something we are very proud of.

This was the second time that Ryan Jefferson (volleyball) and Gabrielle Doyle (water polo) have been named as finalists and the third time for Amy Im (golf) and Summer Osborne (swimming).

Emma Edwards and Emma Brandt were recognized for their netball umpiring achievements by being named finalists in the “Student Official of the Year” category.

We had two finalists in the “All Rounder” category this year, Ngaawai Simpkins for volleyball, rugby, and tag and Georgia Astridge-Emery for football, squash, and hockey. They have had top three results in all of these sports at NZSS national levels.

Three of our incredible sailors were recognized—Joe Leith, Naiomi Ferrissey, and Chloe Turner, all of whom have achieved second place for the Rangitoto College Sailing team at the NZSS National Championship and have had some impressive achievements individually on a global scale.

Our Premier Boys and Girls Volleyball teams managed an unprecedented double gold at the NZSS championships and as such we were pleased to see that four students, John Petrucci Da Silva, Ryan Jefferson (our 2023 Sportsman of the Year), Kalea Norton, and Kaia Buckley,  named as finalists in the volleyball category. They most recently have all been named in Volleyball New Zealand Junior Squads with four other Rangitoto College students.

Riley Sheldon was a finalist in the football category for her achievements for both Rangitoto College and New Zealand.

Chan Min had a great year in tennis for his Rangitoto and North Harbour teams which was reflected in his being named a finalist, while Amy Im continues her impressive golf achievements regionally, nationally, and globally.

Special mention must be made of Year 12 student Gabrielle Doyle (water polo) and our 2023 Sportswoman of the Year Summer Osborne (swimming) who not only consistently compete at an international level but have both been named on the long list of athletes in consideration for the Paris 2024 Olympics.

Wins were gained by the following students:

  • Emma Edwards – Akine Student Official of the Year
  • Georgia Asteridge-Emery – All Rounder
  • Ngaawaimarino Simpkins – All Rounder
  • Summer Osborne – YSPOTY Swimming
  • Kalea Norton – YSPOTY Volleyball
  • Ryan Jefferson – YSPOTY Volleyball
  • Gabrielle Doyle – YSPOT Water Polo
  • Naiomi Ferrisey – YSPOTY Yachting

Congratulations to these Rangitoto students, their whānau, and the sporting community. We enjoyed celebrating with you!